Home CLOSED WHEEL Title defense with strong Audi customer teams

Title defense with strong Audi customer teams

Title defense with strong Audi customer teams

The Belgian team will be racing against, among others, the fellow Audi teams of Saintéloc Racing from France and I.S.R. from the Czech Republic. WRT and Saintéloc have been part of the Audi Sport customer racing family since 2010, and I.S.R. joined in 2014. Saintéloc driver Christopher Haase is a former Blancpain champion, while I.S.R. driver Frank Stippler has already won 24-hour races at the Nürburgring and Spa. WRT, Saintéloc and I.S.R. will also be representing the brand with the four rings in the Endurance Cup. For these races, Belgian Audi Club Team WRT has recruited, among others, the three-time Le Mans winner, Benoît Tréluyer.

“The Blancpain GT Series is the most prestigious series in Europe. Worldwide, no other GT3 series has so many participants,” says Chris Reinke, Head of Audi Sport customer racing. “With up to eight Audi R8 LMS cars, our brand is very well represented. We are racing against many strong manufacturers, many of which are competitors to Audi in the sports car market. We are doing our utmost to continue our success story.”

The Sprint Cup begins from April 1 to 2 at Misano (Italy). The season will conclude with the Endurance Cup finale in Barcelona (Spain) on October 1.

The customer teams of Audi Sport in the Blancpain GT Series:

Sprint Cup

#1 Enzo Ide/Christopher Mies (Belgian Audi Club Team WRT)
#2 Will Stevens/Markus Winkelhock (Belgian Audi Club Team WRT)
#3 Jake Dennis/Pieter Schothorst (Team WRT)
#5 Marcel Fässler/Dries Vanthoor (Belgian Audi Club Team WRT)
#17 Robin Frijns/Stuart Leonard (Team WRT)
#26 Christopher Haase/Romain Monti (Saintéloc Racing)
#74 Kevin Ceccon/Frank Stippler (I.S.R.)
#75 Filip Salaquarda/Clemens Schmidt (I.S.R.)

Endurance Cup

#3 Josh Caygill/John Venter/TBC (Team WRT)
#5 Marcel Fässler/Will Stevens/Dries Vanthoor (Belgian Audi Club Team WRT)
#6 Nathanaël Berthon/Stéphane Richelmi/Benoît Tréluyer (Belgian Audi Club Team WRT)
#17 Jake Dennis/Robin Frijns/Stuart Leonard (Team WRT)
#26 Christian Kelders/Marc Rostan/TBC (Saintéloc Racing)
#75 Filip Salaquarda/Clemens Schmidt/Frank Stippler (I.S.R.)

Source :audi.com

24h Spa 2016
Audi R8 LMS #26 (Saintéloc Racing), Grégory Guilvert/Christopher Haase/Mike Parisy
David Martin-Janiak Motorsports has always been a passion for me, I've raced in Karting and now I have my own Motorsports news website, so i can help other racers convey their passion to the world!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *