Home OPEN WHEEL F1600 Andrews Wins Thrilling Al Craighead Memorial Can-Am Cup

Andrews Wins Thrilling Al Craighead Memorial Can-Am Cup

Andrews Wins Thrilling Al Craighead Memorial Can-Am Cup
Scott Andrews battled Canada’s best young drivers in a thrilling duel for the most sought after title in the country – the Al Craighead Memorial Can-Am Cup.
Andrews made his series debut a month ago, sweeping the Calabogie rounds and impressing the locals with how quickly he adapted to the challenge of new circuits and a new tire.

Qualifying was an exciting session with Andrews grabbing the pole in the dying seconds. The defending Can-Am Cup winner Zacharie Robichon started alongside with recent F1600 Super Series champ Michael Adams in 3rd.

The start set the tone for the entire race with the lead group 3-wide before corner 2. At the end of the first lap it was Adams who came to the front with Robichon and Andrews in tow. The lead pack was 6 cars long, nose-to-tail.

The safety car was deployed for Taegen Poles on lap 3 as she locked up the front tires and slid into the gravel trap in corner 5. She would return to the race after being pulled and getting some service on the car.

On the lap 8 restart the action heated up once again. Race leader Robichon was passed by Adams with Andrews making an aggressive move to slide by as well. The intense battle was allowing “B” Class leader Craig Willis to close in on the lead pack and become a factor in the final outcome.

Over the last few laps the intense fight between Adams and Robichon allowed Andrews to gap them slightly and grab the victory. Adams would just get by on the last lap to secure 2nd and Robichon would cross the line in 3rd. It was an impressive display of wheel-to-wheel racing with all 3 drivers spending time at the front of the pack.

“That was a great battle with Adams, Robichon and Willis all in the lead group,” said winner Andrews. “I am really honoured to have won the Al Craighead Memorial Can-Am Cup Trophy. I know how much it means to everyone up here and I am really humbled to have won it for my team owner, Michael Duncalfe.”

Last year’s Cup winner Robichon led the most laps but seemed to struggle near the end. “The car was pretty good at the beginning of the race but became a real handful as the laps wore on. I think we may have a little issue with the brakes so we will get that sorted tonight and be strong for tomorrow. I did not get to test the car and it is a brand new one to the team so these things can be expected. We will be good tomorrow.”

“A” Class points leader Reid Arnold brought his championship winning dream a little closer with a solid 4th place effort.

The “B” Class was controlled the entire distance by former champion Craig Willis. He was clearly on pace with the lead group and finished 4th overall, an impressive feat in an older car. Willis would be followed across the line by Graham Lobban and a charging Steve Bodrug.

“That was a great race for me,” said Willis. “I was able to hold on to the lead pack for most of the race and when they really started to battle I was right there fighting for third overall so ya, I’m pretty happy. The “A” cars have much better aero but I think I have some ideas on what we can adjust overnight and be a little stronger tomorrow.”

“B” Class points leader Connor Wagland complained of a loss of power and noise coming from the rear of the car so he wisely decided to play it conservative and nurse the car home with his championship still to be decided.

Competitors will line up and do it all over again Sunday, starting with an early morning practice, qualifying and an early afternoon race start. This will be the final round of the season.




Photos by Michael Haley

David Martin-Janiak Motorsports has always been a passion for me, I've raced in Karting and now I have my own Motorsports news website, so i can help other racers convey their passion to the world!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *